Past Legends Honorees

Previous Honorees

To proudly honor these incredible individuals, the Foundation created the “Pioneer Legend”, “Historical Legend”, and the “Living Legend” awards.  Established in 2007, the Oklahoma Geological Foundation has bestowed these honors to thirty-eight individuals at the annual “Legends Award” reception.

  • In 2017, the Foundation honored T. Howard McCasland as “Pioneer Legend”, Aubrey K. McClendon as “Historical Legend”, and Robert A. Hefner III as “Living Legend”.
  • In 2018, Keith F. Walker and Thomas W. Olsen were honored as “Historical Legends”, Frank F. Phillips as “Pioneer Legend”, and Richard D. Fritz as “Living Legend”.

Request Financial Support

The Oklahoma Geological Foundation strongly supports Earth Science education at all grade levels - including elementary, junior and senior high school, and at the college level.

If you are a science teacher, educator, or student desiring financial support, please apply for our Earth Science Education Grants.

Donate Now

The Oklahoma Geological Foundation is making a significant difference in the lives of children of all ages by supporting students, teachers and schools.

Please join us in supporting Earth Science education in Oklahoma!
Submit an online donation and support our programs.